A letter to my dad

20/06/2021

Hello, Happy Sunday. Most importantly, happy Father's day to everyone! 

I know Father's day just like Mother's day is a hard one, not many people want it plastered all over their screens and you have to find the balancing line between what's okay to share and what may upset people. I'm giving full disclosure right now that this post is a letter to my dad to thank him for being the best person in my life. This may be a little upsetting to read for some of you, so please do avoid!


Dear Dad,

Ever since I was little, I remember watching you so closely. I watched you look after me and my siblings, I watched you turn into an entertainer when I was sad, a doctor when I got hurt, a chef when I was hungry and as I've grown, I've watched you become the best parent anyone can ask for. You have always been my best friend, the person I went to for help when I was struggling with school work, the person I could sing badly with when I was having a bad day, someone who I could cry to when I felt overwhelmed and someone who would say yes when mum would say no.

As we know, things have been far from easy for both of us but we have never given up on each other. You have always encouraged me to chase my wildest dreams, you push me daily to get up and not give up. I haven't been the perfect daughter, there's been times we've fallen out and we've said harsh words but we're two peas in a pod. I can't wait to have kids one day and have them grow up with the most amazing granddad. I've got many stories to share about you, some of which I definitely cannot be putting online. 

Living with you right now comes with it's ups and downs. We are both very independent people and it often rubs us the wrong way when things aren't done to our level of satisfaction, it's even harder when those levels are very different! You have let me grow up, make mistakes, been there to pick up the pieces when it's blown up in my face and encouraged me to try again. You've taught me how to cook, to organise strategically, how to budget and how to be happy. Even after everything I've been through in the last nine or so months, I went through heartbreak after heartbreak and I was close to giving up, you still managed to pick me up and help when I needed it. 

My relationship history before my ex was well, not the best! I had a habit of picking the wrong people, until I had met Jack of course. I am so grateful that you were there for the both of us, before our split, you were the voice of reason, the outsider looking in to give us advice and make us both realise our mistakes. After our breakup. you were my shoulder to cry on when I began questioning why I wasn't good enough and what I did that was so wrong. I cannot thank you enough for not sitting there calling him every name under the sun and disrespecting him in front of me, although I am sure you did have some inner thoughts as any parent would. 

It's not been easy to move on but now that I am getting back to being happy seeing someone new, I know I wouldn't have been able to get here without your support. You disagree with the late nights because I often wake you up, but I can see that proud look on your face when I share my "date" stories with you. I can see that all you want is the best for me and I'm finding that.

You're a tough nut to crack but inside you've got a good heart and I know i don't say this to you enough but I love you.

Happy Father's day dad!

© 2021 It's Alanna Jean. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started